The Bolin Centre receives climate-related questions from different parts of society. The centre represents a unique combination of knowledge. We want to be accessible and offer scientific answers. Do you have a question? Ask our climate experts below, or contact bolin@su.se.

Vetenskapliga klimatsvar

Bolincentret får in klimat-relaterade frågor från olika delar av samhället. Inom Bolincentret finns en unik kombination av kunskap. Vi vill finnas tillgängliga och erbjuda vetenskapliga svar. Har du en fråga? Fråga våra klimatexperter nedan, eller kontakta bolin@su.se.

Climate modelling and extreme events

Frederik Schenk, frederik.schenk@geo.su.se, climate researcher at the Rossby Centre, SMHI and Department of Geological Sciences, Stockholm University. Climate modelling, abrupt climate change, paleoclimate, Gulfstream, ice age climate, extreme events, storminess, heatwaves, and droughts.

Climate change on ice-age scale

Richard Gyllencreutz, richard.gyllencreutz@geo.su.se, Department of Geological Sciences at Stockholms University. Climate change on ice-age scale, geophysical methods, sea floors and sediments.

Climate change from a geological perspective

Alasdair Skelton, alasdair.skelton@geo.su.se, Department of Geological Sciences at Stockholm University. General questions on climate change and the carbon cycle. Specific questions on climate change from a geological perspective.

Ancient ecosystem and fossil pollen

Natasha Barbolini, natasha.barbolini@su.se, at Department of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, Stockholm University. Deep-time palaeoecologist who uses the fossil pollen record to reconstruct ancient ecosystems.

Climate sensitivity on earth

Thorsten Mauritsen, thorsten.mauritsen@misu.su.se, at Department of Meteorology, Stockholm University. Climate sensitivity and how it affects precipitation, ocean and atmosphere circulations, and regional changes (e.g., in the Arctic). Lead author of the Sixth IPCC report (AR6).

Ocean circulation and climate

Léon Chafik, leon.chafik@misu.su.se, at Department of Meteorology, Stockholm University. North Atlantic Ocean circulation, variability and climate.

Aerosols, clouds and their relation to climate, and climate sensitivity

Frida Bender, frida.bender@misu.su.se, at Department of Meteorology, Stockholm University. Aerosol-cloud-climate interactions on large scale; in models (primarily GCMs) and in observations (primarily satellite).

Atmospheric processes and water

Daniel Schlesinger, daniel.schlesinger@aces.su.se, Department of Environmental Science at Stockholm University. Focus on water in the context of atmospheric processes, cloud microphysics and aerosol-cloud interactions.

Aerosols and climate

Claudia Mohr, claudia.mohr@aces.su.se, Department of Environmental Science at Stockholm University. Atmospheric aerosols and their impacts on climate and air quality.

Impacts of aerosol particles

Sophie Haslett, sophie.haslett@aces.su.se, Department of Environmental Science at Stockholm University. Research focused on the composition and impacts of aerosol particles.

Aerosols, clouds, climate change and feedbacks

Paul Glantz, paul.glantz@aces.su.se, Department of Environmental Science at Stockholm University. Trends in aerosols, radiation and warming over Europe. Arctic amplification and feedback mechanisms.

Ice sheets, glaciers and cryosphere

Nina Kirchner, nina.kirchner@natgeo.su.se, Department of Physical Geography, Stockholm University. Ice-ocean interaction at marine ice margins in order to improve reconstructions of ice sheet complexes and their dynamics.

Coupled human–environment system

Zahra Kalantari, zahra.kalantari@natgeo.su.se, at Department of Physical Geography, Stockholm University. Nature-based solutions for sustainable land-, water- use management and adaptive land-use planning for decision support, vulnerability assessment to water-related disasters and conflicts, and regional and global hydrology and water resources issues and climate change impacts.

Major mass extinction events

Chris Mays, chris.mays@nrm.se, at The Swedish Museum of Natural History. Polar ecosystems during global greenhouse intervals. Major mass extinction events, their associated climatic changes and their impacts on plants and animals.

Climate history and human societies

Fredrik Charpentier Ljungqvist, fredrik.c.l@historia.su.se, Department of History. Climate history of the past two millennia and the impacts of past climate variability on human societies.

 

Didn’t you find the expert you looked for? Visit Stockholm University’s list (in Swedish).